• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Institute General Elections


The ‘Institute Gymkhana Elections 2017’ was conducted on 15th February 2017. The elections were contested for the post of General Secretary Academic Affairs (UG and PG)-GSAA, General Secretary Hostel Affairs-GSHA, General Secretary Sports Affairs-GSSA, General Secretary Technical Affairs-GSTA, and General Secretary Cultural Affairs-GSCA. This years elections saw increased participation from post-graduate students both in terms of contestants and participation on soapbox.

The post of General Secretary Hostel Affairs-GSHA, was the most closely contested position with Ashish Kumar winning the election with 1779 votes closely followed Anand Singh with 1466 votes. Ashish Kumar, in his manifesto has promised to propose a ‘Baqsa Concept’ where he plans to utilise the open area of hostel 15 and 16 to cater to the food requirements of large freshman population.

As for the General Secretary Sports Affairs-GSSA, Deepak Kinra came out victorious with a whooping majority win of 2953 votes with his innovative ideas of proposing a fit campus regime and also organising adventure sports like desert trek , night safari and scuba diving. He has promised to cater to the needs of all the students of IIT Bombay and not only limit his views to those participating in inter-IIT. 

Suyash Varma stood unopposed for the post of General Secretary Academic Affairs (UG) while  Deekshith won the General Secretary Academic Affairs (PG) elections by 1006 votes. Both of them have made propositions to work towards improving the academic curricula and also encourage overall development of the students in order to make them career-ready.

This year, the gymkhana structure had a new addition with the elections for the post of General Secretary Technical Affairs being held for the first time. Sravan Patchala  won this position by 2363 votes with his vision of expanding the technical education to classrooms while introducing the class to ongoing research projects going on in the institute. Lastly, Nipun Gupta came out victorious as  General Secretary Cultural Affairs with 2713 votes.

Apart from this, Himmat Rajput was elected as the Overall Cordinator of TechFest, Amiya Maitreye and Anmol Aawat as the OC for Mood Indigo and Karan Mantri for Student Alumni Relations Cell (SARC).

Please join me in congratulating all those elected and wish them fruitful and highly effective terms.