• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Institute Foundation Day

On 10th March every year IIT Bombay celebrates its Foundation Day.  The institute was founded on the same day in the year 1959 and the foundation was laid by the then Prime minister Shri Jawaharlal Nehru. The institute was the second IIT to be established with assistance from UNESCO with funds contributed by the Soviet Union. The Soviet Union agreed to give support in terms of the technical knowledge whereas the government was responsible for all the expenses on building the project and its recurring expenses. The institute meanwhile stated on 25th July 1958 in its temporary building SASMIRA building in Worli. The batch had 100 students in various undergraduate engineering programs of Aerospace, Chemical, Civil, Computer, Electrical, Energy, Engineering Physics, Mechanical, metallurgical Engineering and M.Sc. Chemistry. One of the chief aims in establishing the institute was to develop facilities for studies in a variety of specialized engineering and technological sciences.

Since then the institute has grown from strength to strength and is now amongst the best engineering institutions in the world. The campus has expanded and so have the courses offered by the institute. The Institute has now become a centre of excellence for postgraduate and doctorial studies in engineering, sciences and humanities. Every year on this day the institute facilitates its Alumni with the Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Young Alumnus Achiever Awards. Apart from this, two awards are conferred upon faculty members of IIT Bombay for excellence in research. This year IIT Bombay celebrated its 58th Institute Foundation Day. The Chief Guest for the occasion was Mr. Sanjay Mashruwala, Managing Director of Reliance Jio Infocom Limited. The 'Prof. S.C. Bhattacharya Award for Excellence in Research in Pure Sciences' was conferred on Prof. Amiya Pani, Department of Mathematics. The 'Prof. H.H. Mathur Award for Excellence in Research in Applied Sciences’ was conferred on Prof. Rinti Banerjee, Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering. The Young Alumni Achiever Awards (YAA) are for alumni who have made outstanding achievements in their chosen field of work and are below 40 years of age. These awards were instituted in the year 2011. The winners were Prof. Pramod Reddy and Mr. Prashant Mali. The Institute had long felt the need to recognize the alumni of IIT Bombay, who have excelled in their field of work and made the Institute proud. With this intention, the Distinguished Alumnus Awards (DAA) have been instituted. The winners include: 

  1. Prof. Ajit Tamhane
  2. Mr. Paritosh Choksi
  3. Mr. Parag Saxena
  4. Mr. Narendra Joshi
  5. Dr. Mukta Ghate Farooq
  6. Mr. Ardeshir Contractor
  7. Prof. Nitin Padture
  8. Mr. Rajesh Subramanian
  9. Prof. Umesh Waghmare
  10. Dr. Ganesh Natrajan
  11. Dr. K. Sivan

( Please find profile details of all the awardees here.)

Seizing this opportunity, Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director of IIT Bombay briefed the gathered alumni about the sea of changes that have taken place in the institute over the past few years. He stressed on how the institute has thrived to live up to the vision of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru. He informed the gathered alumni that the number of students studying in the campus has increased dramatically to more than 10,000 students with more than Rs 300 crore of research funding per year. Highlighting institutes special efforts towards increasing the female ratio, Prof. Devang Khakhar mentioned that “We have been able to recruit outstanding faculty over the years and have more than 620 faculty members on the rolls at present. Last year, 41 faculty members joined, 30% of whom were women.”