• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Tinkerers’ Laboratory Expansion Inauguration Ceremony

Cheif Guests: Alumni from Class of 1966 and Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Bombay

Title: Tinkerers’ Laboratory Expansion Inauguration Ceremony

Date: March 11, 2017

Venue: Tinkerers’ Laboratory, IIT Bombay

Tinkerers' Laboratory has become a second home for every Techie at IIT Bombay. With generous donations from the batch of 1966 and great help from the institute, especially Department of Electrical Engineering, we've finally got a much bigger area to get our hands dirty.

The Inauguration ceremony for the same was held on March 11th 2017 at 12 . The class of 1966 inaugurated the facility in presence of Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director IIT Bombay.

The function was attended by Director IIT Bombay, Dean ACR, Dean RnD, Dean SA, CEO IITB-DRF, CEO IITB-AA, Prof. Ramesh Singh, Prof. B. G. Fernandes, Prof. Vineet Vashista (IIT Gandhinagar), Prof. Sushmee Badhulika (IIT Hyderabad), Alumni of Classes 1966 and 1975 and students of IIT Bombay

Function Details:

The anniversary function started with talks by Pratham and BETiC Lab at VMCC which was carried forward to Tinkerers’ Laboratory for the Inauguration Ceremony at 12 noon. Prof. Devang Khakhar inaugurated the facility in a ribbon cutting ceremony. This followed by a tour to the director and the alumni of the Tinkerers’ Laboratory. The attendees were presented with a Memento and a TL Pamphlet.

Prof. Khakhar then said a few words to thank the alumni of 1975 and 1966 for the initiative and carrying it forward. He also praised the student teams since the conception of Tinkerers’ Laboratory for handling the facility. Prof. Sinha shared his own experience of Tinkerers’ Laboratory and thanked Alumni and Electrical Department for the support. The alumni representative of Class of 1966, Mr. Elijah Elias then took the mic and shared with us all the stories from his own times when IIT Bombay was fairly young and how the concept of Tinkerers’ Lab amuses him and his batch. Mr. Kirat Patel, representative from batch of 1975 then spoke a few words on how the idea of a Tinkerers’ Lab was born. Chirag Shetty, OC STAB 2015-16 gave a vote of thanks and the function was concluded by a cake cutting ceremony.