• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Steel Colloquium on ‘India’s Achievements In Missile Technology’

The Centre of Excellence in Steel Technology at IIT Bombay is organising the lecture of the "Steel Colloquium Series" on Monday, July 17, 2017.

The details of the lecture are given below

Title   :      ‘India’s Achievements in Missile Technology’

Speaker : Dr. S K Mishra, Distinguished Scientist, DRDO, Ministry of  Defence.

Day & Date:     Monday,July 17, 2017

Time      :     11.45 am

Venue     :     Hall No. 22, 2nd Floor, Victor Menezes Convention Centre, IIT Bombay


India began its pursuit to develop missiles during 1960s through DRDO and debuted  its “Integrated Guided Missile Development Programme (IGMDP)" under Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam in 1983. Today, we have Operational Surface-to-surface Strategic Missiles Prithvi and Agni, Surface-to-Air Missile Akash and Anti-Tank Guided Missile Nag and developed  Air Defence system successfully. The BrahMos Joint Venture between DRDO, Ministry of Defence and NPOM, Russia gave birth to BrahMos Supersonic Cruise Missile System, which spotlights the realisation of a technologically superior weapon system, developed in a short span of time. With a range of 290 km and speed of 2.8 Mach, the missile travels in multiple trajectories from multiple platforms on sea, subsea, land and air; capable of defeating targets on sea and land with high lethal effect. With speed, precision and power, the BRAHMOS undoubtedly is the weapon of modern warfare. BRAHMOS is truly a world leader in the family of cruise missiles.

About the Speaker

Dr. Sudhir K. Mishra is the Distinguished Scientist and Director General of BrahMos, DRDO and CEO and MD of BrahMos Aerospace, an India-Russia joint venture. He is a graduate of Government Engineering College, Jabalpur, M.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Madras and Ph.D. from National Institute of Technology, Warangal. His technical expertise and contribution has resulted in  the realisation of several DRDO Missile Programmes.  He has been awarded with the “DRDO Scientist of the Year Award” by the Prime Minister of India. He is academician of Russian Academy of Cosmonautics  and Fellow of Institution of Engineers (India), Indian Institution of Production Engineers and Centre for Excellence in Project Management, New Delhi. He is a member of many national and international professional societies.