• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Talk by Prof. Ribhu Kaul on QM : Complexity and Computation

The talk was organised on the following topic:

"QM: Complexity and Computation"

Speaker : Prof. Ribhu Kaul

              Department of Physics

              University of Kentucky

Day & Date : Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Time : 9 pm

Venue : LC 301


“We can not solve our problems with the same level of thinking that created them.” —Albert Einstein.

With the dawn of Quantum Mechanics, our understanding of the world has undergone a sea change. Today QM has percolated into various different fields and in many cases has provided better answers to a wide variety of questions.

In the last "Science for Everyone" lecture of this semester, we had Prof. Ribhu Kaul from University of Kentucky who talked about "Quantum Mechanics, Complexity and Computation". The lecture delved into the fascinating study of complexity in many body systems, where the quest for technological advances have led to groundbreaking discoveries in fundamental physics, and conversely where weird ideas in theoretical physics continue to inspire futuristic technologies. Along the way,  some bizarre phenomena of superconductivity and whether quantum computers can solve the problems of the world if they can be built at all were also discussed.

About the speaker:

Ashoke Sen made a number of major original contributions to the subject of string theory, including his landmark paper on strong-weak coupling duality or S-duality, which was influential in changing the course of research in the field. He pioneered the study of unstable D-branes and made the famous Sen conjecture about open string tachyon condensation on such branes. He is one of the leading theoretical physicsts in the world today and he has been one of the winners of the first Fundamental Physics prize (worth 3 million $), started by Russian billionaire Yuri Milner in 2012.

Prof. Sen's other national and international awards include the ICTP prize (1989), the Bhatnagar award (1994), TWAS prize (1997), FRS (1998), Padma Shri (2001), Infosys Prize (2009), the Fundamental Physics Prize (2012), Padma Bhushan (2013), and the Dirac Medal (2014).