• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Institute Valedictory Function

Institute Valedictory Function (IVF):

On 3rd May, IIT Bombay held its annual Institute Valedictory Function at the NAG Auditorium in Victor Menezes Convention Centre for the graduating batch of 2019. The last event in the life of any graduating student, it was indeed a time of mixed emotions for everyone. Two of the Institute’s esteemed alumni graced the occasion with their presence: Mr. Abhay Pandey, who has done his B.Tech in Computer Science and Engineering in 1993, now is General Partner at A91 partners; and Mr. Gagan Bhalla, who completed his B. Tech in Civil Engineering in 1996 and CEO and COO of Apollo Sugar and Apollo White Dental and also a recipient of the Young Alumni Achiever Award 2015.

Prof. Soumyo Mukherji, the then Dean SA, and Prof. Suhas Joshi, Dean ACR, were also among the dignitaries. The program was introduced by Prof. Soumyo Mukherji, who congratulated the students for completing the tough journey of graduation followed by the address of Prof Suhas Joshi. They each delivered motivational speeches while sharing many of their own experiences. The chief guests, Mr. Abhay Pandey, and Mr. Gagan Bhalla, also spoke to the audience in the valedictory address, telling them about the pointers which they considered important in their life. The respective representatives also shared their memories of their Institute life. Mr. Kanishka Patil, UG Representative, gave a heartfelt graduation speech. Ms. Pooja threw light upon the life and journey of postgraduate students in the Institute.

The proceedings also included the ceremonial transfer of the student list from Prof. Soumyo Mukherji, the then Dean of Student Affairs to the alumni list with Prof. Suhas Joshi, Dean Alumni, and Corporate Relations. The Outstanding Contribution Awards were also given out to felicitate the members of the Student Alumni Relations Cell who have contributed substantially to the Institute as part of Dean (Alumni and Corporate Relations) Office. The awardees were Karan Mantri, Samarth Agrawal, Taveesh Garg, Vaishali Agarwal and Mrinal Dharmik.

Being the last event in a student’s life at IIT Bombay, everyone was immersed in the memories they created in their stay at the Institute. Each one promised to keep in touch with the other and to carry their bond of friendship forever.