• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

IITB confers prestigious teaching awards at the 61st teachers day celebration

The 61st Teacher’s Day celebration of IIT Bombay was held on September 9, 2019. Prof. Varun Sahni,  Vice-Chancellor at Goa University was invited as Chief Guest and he presented awards for 'Prof. S. P. Sukhatme Award for Excellence in Teaching’ and Dr. P. K. Patwardhan Technology Development Award' to select faculty members.

Indian classical dance performances arranged by the students of IIT Bombay marked the beginning of the celebrations, which were aimed at conveying their gratitude towards their teachers. Students introduced their professors and presented their subjective interpretation of what made them exceptional teachers. 

The recipients of the Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2019 were:

  • Prof. M. B. Patil, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Prof. Ratheesh Radhakrishnan, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Prof. Sauvik Banerjee, Department of Civil Engineering
  • Prof. George Mathew, Department of Earth Sciences
  • Prof. S. V. Sabnis, Department of Mathematics
  • Prof. Prabhu Ramachandran, Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Prof. G. G. Ray, IDC School of Design
  • Prof. J. K. Verma, Department of Mathematics
  • Prof. Subhankar Karmakar, Department of Environmental Science & Engineering
  • Prof. Bhalchandra Puranik, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Prof. B. A. Poovaiah, IDC School of Design
  • Prof. Pooja Purang, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Prof. A. M. Kulkarni, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Prof. A. S. Athavale, Department of Mathematics

Congratulating the awardees, Prof. Subhasis Chaudhuri, Director of IIT Bombay concluded that IIT Bombay continues to be a coveted destination for UG and PG studies. “Among 23 IITs in the country, 47 out of top 50 rankers and 63 of top 100 rankers in JEE 2019 have joined IIT Bombay”.