• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Knowledge Tree: Newsletter December 2013

Dear Friend,

Greetings from IIT Bombay.

Please join me in offering our heartiest congratulations to the winners of the Distinguished Service Awards (DSA) for the year 2013. The awards have been conferred on Mr. Ruyintan Mehta (B.Tech.’70 Chemical), Mr. Sameer Katdare (B.Tech.’75 Chemical), Mr. Dhananjay Saheba (B.Tech.’77 Electrical), Dr. Amol Gokhale (B.Tech.’78 Metallurgy), Mr. Paresh Vora (B.Tech.’81 Electrical) and Mr. Ajay Bhagwat (B.Tech.’85 Electrical). Their outstanding contribution in the service of the Institute has greatly benefited the Institute and is an inspiration to all of us. The awards will be presented during the Alumni Day function on 29th December.

Nominations have also been invited for Distinguished Alumnus Awards (DAA) 2014 and Young Alumni Achiever Awards (YAAA) 2014. The awards will be conferred during the Institute Foundation Day function in March 2014. Please see the story below for details.

We are very pleased to update you regarding the developments during our Institute’s annual roadshow in the USA. A delegation from IIT Bombay consisting of Prof. DV Khakhar (Director), Prof. HS Pandalai (DD-FEA), Prof. PM Mujumdar (Dean R&D), Prof. R. Dusane (Dean IR) and me visited several universities, research organisations and companies during the visit. Alumni chapter meetings were also organized in several cities during our visit. The roadshow received a great response from IITB alumni who affirmed their commitment to IITB’s vision of becoming a leading technological university. The Faculty Alumni Meeting (FAN) this year was hosted by Washington University at St. Louis, and was attended by around 100 faculty members, IIT alumni, Washington University faculty and other well-wishers. The Annual Distinguished Alumni Meet (ADAM) was also held during the roadshow. The IIT delegation met and interacted with several eminent academia and corporate leaders and identified possible opportunities for collaboration in research, faculty recruitment and other strategic partnerships.

The month of December will witness alumni from all over the world coming to IIT Bombay to celebrate the Alumni Day on December 29th. The Class of ‘88 is also celebrating their Silver Jubilee Reunion on December 28th. The decennial reunion of the Class of ’03 will also be held on December 29th. I cordially invite all alumni and their families to be a part of the celebrations.

It gives me great pleasure to inform you that IIT Bombay has been assigned the responsibility to design and implement the ‘National Dandi Salt Satyagraha Memorial’. As a part of this project IIT Bombay is organizing two workshops where the life-size sculptures of 80 satyagrahis, who participated in the famous Dandi March along with Gandhiji will be created at the campus.

We are very pleased to bring to you Prof. Vishnu Dutt Sharma of the Department of Mathematics as the Faculty of Distinction this month. Prof. Sharma has been associated with IITB for over 25 years. He was the Head of Department from 1996-2000 and 2003-2006. He has been instrumental in establishing the structure of the research programme in Mathematics. An outstanding teacher, he has also been conferred with the Excellence in Teaching award twice, in 1998 and 2003. He is a prolific researcher who has received several awards and distinctions throughout his exemplary career.

The Institute continues to attract outstanding talent as new faculty members. Several have joined IIT Bombay in the past. We are pleased to bring a short introduction of these new faculty members in the article below.

The generous contributions received from our alumni, corporate entities, and other friends of the Institute helps in making an important difference in our endeavour to pursue global excellence. The contributions towards Institute Development, Infrastructure Development, Young Faculty Awards, Chair Professorships, Hostel Development, Student Development, etc. are examples of utilization of these funds for the betterment of the Institute. We invite you to contribute to the Institute’s betterment to the best of your ability. Please click here to access the donation link.

Ravi Sinha 

Dean, Alumni and Corporate Relations